The Second Minute

By Andy Barrett

Various dates - on tour

Broadway Baptist Church, Derby - Ticket price £Various

Suitable for those aged 11+ - Running time: 1h20 + interval

Details

This show is on tour. To book tickets please contact the venue listed below directly.
We hope you enjoy the show.

The past meets the present in this heroic and heart-breaking tale of one soldier’s life in World War One.

1914: Thomas Swann, an innkeeper’s son from rural Nottinghamshire, enlists to fight on the Western Front.

2014: Researcher Laura is drawn ever deeper into Tom’s story, unfolding in chronological order through his letters to and from home; just one yellowing bundle, out of the millions of letters that crossed the channel every week during the long years of war. Will Tom make it through to 1918 – and what good will it do Laura to raise his spirit now?

A hundred years after the outbreak of the First World War, Andy Barrett has taken letters held in the archive of the Sherwood Foresters and woven them into a spell-binding new play that envelops the heroic and heartbreaking tales of real Notts soldiers and families, told in their own words.
CentreStageTouring LincsRuralTouring VillageVentures
Supported by Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire & Leicestershire Rural Touring Partnership

Creative Team

Director Giles Croft
Designer Sarah Lewis
Lighting and Sound Designer Steph Bartle

Tour Dates

Sat 3rd May, 2pm & 8pm
Derby Theatre
01332 593939
www.derbytheatre.co.uk

Weds 7th May, 7.30pm
Thrumpton Village Hall
0115 9830373
Email: susimonds@hotmail.com www.villageventures.org.uk

Thurs 8th May, 7.30pm
Thoresby Riding Hall Theatre
01623 822009
Email: gallery@thoresby.com

Fri 9th May, 7.30pm
Chilwell Arts Theatre
0115 9252698
Email: theatre@chilwell.notts.sch.uk www.villageventures.org.uk

Sat 10th May, 8.00pm
The Theatre, South Nottingham Academy
0115 9334115
Email: harry.curtis01@ntlworld.com

Sun 11th May, 7.30pm
Harworth & Bircotes Town Hall
01302 752642
Email: eoharworthtowncouncil@hotmail.co.uk

Weds 14th May, 7.30pm
The Storehouse, Skegness
01754 765645
Email: grapay@aol.com

Thurs 15th May, 7.30pm
Terry O’Toole Theatre, North Hykeham
01522 883311

Fri 16th May, 7.30pm
Tennyson d’Eyncourt Memorial Hall, Tealby
01673 838718
Email: info@davidkirshner.org.uk

Sat 17th May, 7.30pm
Braunston & Brooke Village Hall
07956 308808
Email: ticketsbbvh@gmail.com

Sun 18th May, 7.30pm
Century Theatre, Coalville
01530 278444
Email: stuarthicks56@hotmail.com

Tues 20th May, 7.30pm
Action Transport Theatre, Ellesmere Port
0151 3572120
www.actiontransporttheatre.org

Fri 23rd May, 7.45pm
Chipping Norton Theatre, Oxfordshire
01608 642350
www.chippingnortontheatre.co.uk

Sat 24th May, 7.45pm
The Neighbour Hall, Great Milton, Oxfordshire
01844 279 474
www.goodnightout.org

Sun 25th May, 7.30pm
Cliviger Village Hall, Lancashire
01282 423743
www.spotonlancashire.co.uk

Tues 27th May, 2pm, neat 14
The Chase, Nottingham
Tickets for this performance are free but need to be booked in advance.
0115 941 9419
www.nottinghamplayhouse.co.uk

Weds 28th May, 2pm
Fleetwood Library, Lancashire
01254 660360
www.spotonlancashire.co.uk

Fri 30th May, 7.30pm
Samlesbury War Memorial Hall, Lancashire
01772 877248
www.spotonlancashire.co.uk

Sat 31st May, 7.30pm
Tarvin Community Centre, Cheshire
01829 741962
www.cheshireruraltouringarts.co.uk

Sun 1st June, 7.30pm
Plumbley Village Hall, Cheshire
01565 722259
www.cheshireruraltouringarts.co.uk

Friday 6th June, 7.30pm
Broadway Baptist Church, Derby
01332 294204
www.sixstreetsderby.org.uk

Sat 7th June, 7.30pm
Gretton Village Hall, Northamptonshire
01536 770302
www.northantstouringarts.co.uk

Sun 8th June, 7.30pm
Goostrey Village Hall, Cheshire
01477 544467
www.cheshireruraltouringarts.co.uk

Weds 11th 7.30pm, Thurs 12th June 2pm & 7.30pm
Dixon Studio , Southend Palace Theatre
01702 351135
www.southendtheatres.org.uk

Sat 14th June, 7.00pm
Arkenstall Centre, Haddenham, Cambridgeshire
01353 616991
www.adec.org.uk/cambs-arts-tour

Sun 15th June, 7.00pm
The Ellesmere Centre, Newmarket, Cambridgeshire
01353 616991
www.adec.org.uk/cambs-arts-tour

Dates & Times

The Second Minute - Fri 6 Jun 7:30pm Fri 6 Jun Broadway Baptist Church, Derby 7:30pm Various
The Second Minute - Sat 7 Jun 7:30pm Sat 7 Jun Gretton Village Hall, Northamptonshire 7:30pm Various
The Second Minute - Sun 8 Jun 7:30pm Sun 8 Jun Goostrey Village Hall, Cheshire 7:30pm Various
The Second Minute - Wed 11 Jun 7:30pm Wed 11 Jun Dixon Studio, Southend Palace Theatre 7:30pm Various
The Second Minute - Thu 12 Jun 2:00pm Thu 12 Jun Dixon Studio, Southend Palace Theatre 2:00pm Various
The Second Minute - Thu 12 Jun 7:30pm Thu 12 Jun Dixon Studio, Southend Palace Theatre 7:30pm Various
The Second Minute - Sat 14 Jun 7:00pm Sat 14 Jun Arkenstall Centre, Haddenham, Cambridgeshire 7:00pm Various
The Second Minute - Sun 15 Jun 7:00pm Sun 15 Jun The Ellesmere Centre, Newmarket, Cambridgeshire 7:00pm Various

Reviews

 

Utterly engaging and emotionally compelling

The Big Issue

close

Pick Your Date