Chance to star in Philip Pullman's I Was a Rat!

Tuesday 1st January 2013

We’re looking for exciting young actors to be part of Philip Pullman’s ‘I Was A Rat!’

This is your chance to be part of a production at Nottingham Playhouse; to work with professional actors and the adapter and director Teresa Ludovico, Artistic Director of Teatro Kismet.

Nottingham Playhouse will be holding auditions in order to select two teams of ten children to appear onstage as ‘ratlings’.

To avoid disappointment please check that you fulfil the requirements below; especially your age, or you will not get a licence.

Requirements
To be able to respond quickly and accurately to instructions from the director.
To be aged between 11(on or before 26/03/1) and 15 years (16th Birthday to be on or after 14/4/13).

To be available to rehearse 4.30pm-7.30pm Thursday 21st March; 4.30pm-7.30pm Friday 22nd March; 10am-4pm Saturday 23rd March; 1pm-4pm Sunday 24th March; 10am-4pm Monday 25th March. There will be an afternoon dress rehearsal on Tuesday 26th March before the performances begin that evening. Please note that due to the licensing rules the performers will not be able to swap shows with their double in the other team. A performance rota will be available, with the shows split between the two teams; one team will do both shows on one day.

Tuesday 26th March 6.30pm performance
Wednesday 27th March 2pm and 6.30pm performances
Thursday 28th March 1.30pm and 6.30pm performances
Friday 29th March 1.30pm performance
Saturday 30th March 2.30pm and 6.30pm performances

Tuesday 2nd April 6.30pm performance
Wednesday 3rd April 1.30pm and 6.30pm performances
Thursday 4th April 1.30pm and 6.30pm performances
Friday 5th April 6.30pm performance
Saturday 6th April 2.30pm and 6.30pm performances

Tuesday 9th April 1.30pm and 6.30pm performances
Wednesday 10th April 1.30pm and 6.30pm performances
Thursday 11th April 1.30pm and 6.30pm performances
Friday 12th April 6.30pm performance
Saturday 13th April 6.30pm performance

There will be no payment for appearing in this production, but travel expenses can be claimed up to £3.40 per day for rehearsals and shows. You will be expected to abide by the rules and regulations of the theatre.

Please call to book a slot on 0115 9474361 and ask for Jane Eliot-Webb or e-mail her at janew@nottinghamplayhouse.co.uk.

Auditions are on the afternoon of Monday 28th January 2013 at the Playhouse. The audition will last for approximately 60 minutes during which time you will be working with Nottingham Playhouse’s Youth Theatre Director Sarah Stephenson and the Musical Director and Composer Frank Moon.